Title 51
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE

Part XXVI. Burial, Transportation, Disinterment or
Other Disposition of Dead Human Bodies

Chapter 1. General Requirements

§101. Permits

[formerly paragraph 26:001-1)

A. The state health officer shall provide a permit for the
burial, cremation, entombing, removal, transportation by
common carrier or other disposition of dead human bodies
as defined by R.S. 40:32; to be known as the burial-transit
permit, and no other permit shall be necessary for any other
the above dispositions.

B. [Formerly paragraph 26:001-2] The burial-transit
permit shall consist of threc sections: The first section shall
be executed by the State Registrar of Vital Records or his
designated agent to whom the certificate of death is
presented and shall contain the following information: full
name, race, age and sex of the deceased, the place of death,
date of death and a space for a statement by the registrar that
a certificate of death has been filed and that permission is
granted to a stated party to dispose of the corpse. The second
section of the permit shall be filled out and signed by the
funeral director or other person designated as custodian of
the body, and shall contain a statement as to the method of
embalming or preparation for final disposition and date
thereof. The third section shall be filled out and signed by
the sexton or person in charge of burial or other final
disposal, and shall contain a statement as to the method of
final disposal, date, and name and location of cemetery or
crematory, and lot number if burial is in a cemetery.

C. [Formerly paragraph 26:001-3] When dead bodies are
shipped by common carrier, the burial-transit permit shall be
securely attached to the shipping case in an envelope and
shall accompany the remains to their destination.

D. [Formerly paragraph 26:001-4] Within 10 days after
burial, cremation or other disposal, the sexton of the
cemetery, or other such person in charge of the disposal,
shall execute the third section of the burial-transit permit,
transcribe the date thereon to the record of the cemetery, and
shall forward the permit to the registrar of the parish where
the burial or other such disposal occurred.

E. [Formerly paragraph 26:001-5] The burial-transit
permits of the other states (including foreign countries) shall
be accepted as authorization for burial in the same manner as
if the permit had been issued by the State Registrar of Vital
Records.

F. [Formerly paragraph 26:002] The local registrar shall
file and preserve the executed burial-transit permits which
are returned to him by the sexton or other such persons.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: The first source of authority for
promulgation of the sanitary code is in R.S. 36:258(B), with more
particular provisions found in Chapters 1 and 4 of Title 40 of the
Louisiana Revised Statutes. This Part is promulgated in accordance
with R.S. 40:4(A)(3) and R.S. 40:5(14).

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1448 (June
2002).
§103. Embalming

[formerly paragraph 26:003-1]

A. [Formerly paragraph 26:003-1] Embalming dead
human bodies shall be performed in accordance with R.S.
37:831-861 relating to embalming.

B. [Formerly paragraph 26:003-2] If the body is to be
held longer than 30 hours without refrigeration as specified,
it shall be embalmed in a manner approved by the Louisiana
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors. If a dead human
body is to be held longer than 30 hours in the custody of a
Louisiana licensed hospital, Louisiana medical school, the
Louisiana Anatomical Board or a coroner, it shall be
refrigerated at all times at a temperature not to exceed
45 degrees Fahrenheit prior to its release to a funeral director
for final disposition. If a body is not refrigerated or
embalmed, it shall be buried, cremated, or otherwise
disposed of within 30 hours after death or as soon as
possible after its release to the licensed funeral director. No
one shall carry, transport or remove from within the confines
of this state any dead human body more than 24 hours after
death unless said body has been embalmed or cremated.
Nothing in this Section, however, shall be construed to
prohibit transfer of an unembalmed dead human body which
has been disposed of for the purpose of the advancement of
medical science, or for use as "transplant" organs.
Additionally, nothing in this Section shall be construed to
require embalming if special practices and beliefs of
religious groups prohibit it.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(3) and R.S. 40:5 (2)(3)(14)(17).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:1388
(December 1994), repromulgated LR 28:1448 (June 2002), LR
29:1105 (July 2003).

§105.  Construction and Alterations of Funeral
Establishments
{formerly paragraph 26:004|

A. No new funeral establishments shall hereafter be
constructed nor major alterations be made to existing funeral
establishments without the prior written approval of, and
unless in accordance with the plumbing plans and

Louisiana Administrative Code Aopril 2013



PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE

specifications approved in advance by the state health
officer.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(3) and R.S. 40:5(14),

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1449 (June
2002).

§107. Transportation

(formerly paragraph 26:005-1]

A. The transportation of dead human bodies by a
common carrier shall conform to the following
requirements.

1. [Formerly paragraph 26:005-2] A burial-transit
permit shall accompany the body in accordance with
§101.C.

2. [Formerly paragraph 26:005-3] The body shall be
placed in a coffin or casket. 1t shall be enclosed in a strong
outer box unless it is transported in a closed vehicle
designed exclusively for the transportation of dead human
bodies.
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B. [Formerly paragraph 26:007] The state health officer
reserves the right to prescribe additional requirements
regarding transportation and handling of dead human bodies
in accordance with the general powers and jurisdiction,
where cases warrant such, pursuant to R.S. 40:5.

AUTHORITYNOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(3) and R.S. 40:5(14).
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1449 (June
2002).

§109. Burial

[formerly paragraph 26:006)

A. Human bodies shall bc buried only in a duly

authorized cemetery or burying place as defined or set forth
in R.S. Title 8.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(3) and R.S, 40:5(14).

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1449 (June
2002).



